PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] It appears that installing OpenLDAP broke SSH

thekirkwoods
May 4th, 2019, 03:08 PM
I've been searching for a week and can't seem to find a solution. So, I need your help.

I am using Ubuntu 18.10.

Basically, I've installed OpenLDAP (I'm still really new at it, so it's just in a test phase), and within the LDAP server are two usernames, 'john' and 'test'.

I can 'su john' just fine, all works as expected. In fact, I believe (and I'll check again) that I can even 'su matt', which is a name which was added directly to the Ubuntu OS as a standard user.

However, I can't SSH to any user, even if that user is in the LDAP server or just in the OS. When I attempt to SSH, the process hangs for a moment, and eventually says 'Incorrect Password'. This is causing other additional problems that I need to solve.

Anyways, I could just post a bunch of config files and settings, or I could just start from scratch and open the forum for a conversation. Please question me and ask to see copies of various files, screenshots or whatever, and I'll post them to facilitate the troubleshooting process. In return, please let me know if there is a specific area of detail I may have overlooked.

Thanks again!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Update May 5, 2019
When I installed OpenLDAP, I did the following actions:

installed slapd and ldap-utils
dpkg-reconfigure slapd
ldapadd -x -D cn=admin,dc=practice,dc=net -W -f add_entries.ldif

When I installed the ldap client, I did the following actions:

installed libnss-ldap, libpam-ldap, and ldap-utils
sudo auth-client-config -t nss -p lac_ldap
sudo pam-auth-update
sudo gedit /etc/pam.d/common-session

I have attached a screenshot of my common-session file as well as a couple other screenshots.

Any advice that you all can add, would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!