PDA

View Full Version : Whats a good alternative to gnome desktop environment?

swangnation
April 30th, 2019, 01:18 PM
Hi guys, I'm new to ubuntu and to the forum.

Just wondering what a good alternative to gnome desktop environment would be? I've got an asus amd laptop. 1.5ghz quad core 4gb ram 500gb hd. Not the best i admit but i can't complain. I bought it for $200 new.
Not looking to do anything major with this laptop. Just some web browsing, maybe the occasional essay on a word processor. Basic stuff.

What would you guys suggest?

Rubi1200
April 30th, 2019, 01:23 PM
Good alternative or a resource light alternative?

There is a difference.

A lot of people like Xfce: https://www.xfce.org/about

Frogs Hair
April 30th, 2019, 02:38 PM
Please see the linked sticky. and also the Flavours link in my signature.

https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2415676

Autodave
April 30th, 2019, 05:41 PM
+1 with Xubuntu. I run that on an ald Asus EEEPC and it runs just fine. The Asus is slower than your machine and only one gig RAM.

similar2
April 30th, 2019, 08:01 PM
You can run any desktop environment with these specs, any flavor.

https://www.ubuntu.com/download/flavours
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PWp51BAzn-8

The choice is largely a matter of personal preference: KDE Plasma—which has a reputation of being heavy and resource-hungry—runs faster than GNOME on my old desktop tower (I run both)...

I'd suggest Ubuntu Budgie though, for simplicity's sake and no fuss no muss user experience.

Although not Ubuntu-based, Deepin is another excellent choice for a newcomer to GNU/Linux.

https://www.slant.co/versus/1136/26007/~budgie_vs_deepin-de

Tadaen_Sylvermane
May 1st, 2019, 05:03 AM
+1 for Xfce. Install Xubuntu instead of adding to vanilla install imo. Gives good customisation with great performance.

kc1di
May 1st, 2019, 10:31 AM