PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Booting problems, caused by grub config changing maybe.. Please help

linaafryn12
March 6th, 2019, 10:52 AM
Hello, i am new user to ubuntu bcs i want to migrate from windows, i like to set up my pc by looking tutorials and articles. i'm not a pro user, but i understand how to use terminal, installing programs,
and until yesterday, I installed many program for my daily using, but that time, maybe i accidentally changed the grub config. So i tried to look tutorials and solved the first problem, but I'm too obsessed haha, and then i changed the grub config again, and after i tried to reboot...
1. system bootorder not found. initializing default
creating boot entry "Boot000A"with label "ubuntu" for file "EFI\ubuntu\shimx64.efi' and then...
2. error: can't find command 'hmwatch'.
system bootorder not found. initializing default
3. error: no such device: F515-593E
error: out of memory
press any key to continue...

failed to boot both default and failback entries.

4. and the last one, the biggest nightmare i've ever had, maybe....
sooooo many abstract characters came out, oh my goodness that was so scary:"

and then it went to grub2, and there were like 3 or 4 choices, like ubuntu, advanced setting for ubuntu, system setting (BIOS), etc i forgot.
i can't figure it out what really happens to my laptop, and until now i haven't found any helpful articles or yt video tutorials that work for me.
idk how to fix it, and rarely people around me using linux. and i haven't backup my data huhu, but i think it won't be deleted, hope so. i can't reinstall ubuntu for now, since i haven't backup my data.
I hope that you guys can help me, big love from Indonesia!! <3 <3 thank you so much (sorry for my bad english, not a native hehe)

kc1di
March 6th, 2019, 11:47 AM
I Think at this point a fresh install may be the best bet. You can boot to the Live session and copy any important files to a usb stick or external drive Then reinstall Ubuntu.

yancek