PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Unable to install alongside XP or resize partition

davidforrest57
February 13th, 2019, 06:36 PM
I am new to Ubuntu and have just started looking at Xubuntu 18.04 on a live USB, with a view to installing it as a dual-boot on an old Dell Latitude D600. The D600 has a single 40GB partition installed with Win XP.

When I try to install Xubuntu there is no option to install alongside XP. This dual boot option is available if I go through the installation procedure on another (Win 7) laptop, but I want to install on the D600. There seems to be some issue with the D600, not the Live USB.

Furthermore, I am unable to shrink the ntfs partition with GParted (so I guess this is being thwarted by the same issue affecting the dual boot install of Xubuntu). GParted doesn’t have any such problems with the other laptop; once again, it’s only a problem with the D600. I get the same results with a dedicated GParted Live USB. Here are a couple of screenshots:

In my search for a solution, I have found an old thread in the Ubuntu Forums that describes an issue just like mine:

[SOLVED] why can't gparted resize win xp partition on my toshiba laptop? https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1572176

So I have followed the advice in this thread and carried out the following on the D600:

I have disabled virtual memory.
I have defragmented the drive.
I have run chkdsk /p from the Recovery Console (and also from within Windows).

Unfortunately, none of these has solved my problem. Chkdsk finds 4kb in bad sectors (which has been present for many years), so I’m wondering if this is the source of the problem.

Can anybody help, please?

One curious thing: in the old thread the poster’s screenshot shows exactly the same amount of unallocated space (7.84 MB) at the end of the drive as mine. Coincidence?

Thanks in advance.

Impavidus
February 13th, 2019, 08:10 PM