PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Understanding Desktop Environments in Linux??

blown2bytes
February 9th, 2019, 10:08 PM
I'm fairly new to Linux (using Ubuntu for a couple of years now) and I'm confused about the desktop environment in Linux. I read about terms such as display manager, x server, terminal server, TTYs, and desktop environments. It's confusing to me. Is there a good article somewhere or can someone explain to me what all these pieces do and how they interact together?

Specifically What is Display manager vs. X server vs. Desktop Environment.

Also, what is the difference between the "Ubuntu", "Ubuntu on Wayland", and "Unity" desktop environments.

CatKiller
February 9th, 2019, 10:44 PM
Specifically What is Display manager vs. X server vs. Desktop Environment.

The display manager simply provides the graphical login screen at the end of the boot process and launches the next stage when you log in. Examples would be GDM, LightDM, SDDM.

The X server handles the display and keyboard and mouse input. It is 35 years old and somewhat crufty. Wayland is the more modern replacement, but is a work-in-progress. Not all of the things that the X server can do can be done in Wayland yet.

The window manager handles the decoration and placement of windows. Examples would be Mutter, KWin, Compiz, Muffin.

A desktop environment is a collection of applications to work together. This will generally include a window manager, a default display manager, and a set of default applications. Examples would be Gnome, KDE, Cinnamon, Xfce. Unity acted like a desktop environment, but was based on Gnome applications. It was a set of plugins for Compiz and a standard configuration. Unity has since been discontinued as a Canonical project in favour of configuring Gnome to act largely the same way.