PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Another dual boot on HP with UEFI thread

jsundqui
January 28th, 2019, 03:36 PM
I have lots of experience installing Linux on dual boot machines - my first time was in 1996, installing Slackware 3.0 (from floppies!) along side a Win95 install!

I have also installed on a few machines with UEFI, but not dual boot.

This is my first time for dual boot with UEFI (dual with Windows 10) and it looks like from much searching on this forum that it was bad choice to get an HP.

I install OK, but the problem is only booting into Windows.

As a digression, for the install, I followed all the advice I could fund, including disabling secure boot, fast start up, etc. etc. One piece of advice I did not find anywhere was to create a separate partition for /etc/efi. The first time I tried the install it failed because it couldn't write the efi files. So I had to create that partition separately (I did manual partitioning since I didn't want to installer to nuke the Win10 install, and the only default options with Ubuntu 18.04 was to pretty much nuke the Win10 install).

end digression.

Rebooting gave me no option to select Ubuntu. I tried all sorts of ESC F9, F10, etc. during boot, but the only boot options I ever saw were which device (HD or USB stick) to boot from. I tried running "bcdedit /set "{bootmgr}" path \EFI\ubuntu\grubx64.efi" from an admin account windows command line, but no luck.

More searching showed me this thread: https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2392797 which said that HP just hard codes the windows-only boot into the BIOS, but provides a work around. OldFred gives a great list of links in reply #2 (https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2392797&p=13770426#post13770426) to that thread.

I also ran boot-repair and got this print out: http://paste.ubuntu.com/p/YZGxXJf7gT/

I am posting for two reasons.