PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem Installing: No video *only* when installing UEFI vs Legacy BIOS

zaurian
December 1st, 2018, 08:32 AM
I'm not exactly a n00b, but I'm no Ubuntu expert. I'd like to get Ubuntu installed alongside Windows 10. I have two 1Tb NVMe drives. First drive is Windows 10 with GPT and UEFI Windows boot.

I booted from a live USB and installed Ubuntu Desktop 18.04 specifically on the second NVMe drive. The install seemed to go fine. However, once I rebooted it went directly to Windows. I realize now that I installed in Legacy BIOS. I still don't understand why Grub was not installed, however.

So, on to UEFI BIOS configuration (ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme motherboard, AMD Ryzen Threadripper 16 core, 128Gb RAM). I disabled Legacy/CSM. I also disabled Safe Boot. Then, no option to boot from my USB, because it wasn't set up to boot UEFI. So, I re-image the USB this time using Rufus 3.3 and a GPT partition scheme with UEFI, imaging as ISO not DD. Reboot and now I see the USB as an option so I make it the first boot choice. EFI menu comes up: live, live-install, check, memtest, hd (full descriptions as seen in txt.cfg in isolinux). Whether I choose live or live-install, I get a black screen for a few seconds and then there is no HDMI signal to my monitor.

I know that the installation has the correct drivers for my HDMI monitor (LG 65" OLED65C7P) and video card (nVidia GeForce 1080Ti) because it worked just fine when I went through the install following a Legacy BIOS boot and install.

I know that the installation program is continuing to run because after about a minute of no signal to my monitor the workstation gets DHCP and I'm able to ping it.