PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Can't install 18.04 on Lenovo laptop

coley9225
November 6th, 2018, 11:13 PM
Let me start by explaining I have zero experience with linux type OSs. When I try to install lubuntu 18.04, the install hangs at installing grub2 package. I've tried with secure boot on and off. I've try a new download, and always stall while installing the grub2 package. I have also tried to install 18.10, and it hangs at 80%, "start procedure and passes 'fw_type" to other process. I'm using a lenovo ideapad 320 with the following specs:
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Intel Celeron N3350 @ 1.10GHz dual core
4.00GB @ 814MHz (?-11-11-28)
motherboard LENOVO LNVNB161216 (U3E1)
Graphics
Generic PnP Monitor (1366x768@60Hz)
E32 (1366x768@60Hz)
Intel HD Graphics (Lenovo)
931GB Seagate ST1000LM035-1RK172 (SATA ) 38 °C
298GB Seagate ST332031 0CS SCSI Disk Device (USB (SATA) )
PLDS DVD-RW DA8AESH

I would prefer to dual-boot, but have tried using entire 300GB external for single boot,and just put up with going in and telling computer to boot from usb.
ANY suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

ubfan1
November 7th, 2018, 12:08 AM
Check your UEFI settings (BIOS, invoked by some key at power-up) for a preference of boot mode -- legacy over UEFI or UEFI over legacy. Assuming your Windows is in UEFI mode, on a GPT partitioned disk, you need to install Ubuntu in UEFI mode. Since the install media contains both legacy and UEFI bootloaders, if the preference is legacy (and your hard disk only contains UEFI, so you'd never notice), the install is attempted in legacy mode, and a GPT disk simply has no space between the partitions for installing grub. How much free space does your EFI partition have? Usually there's plenty of room for grub, but ...

coley9225
November 7th, 2018, 12:17 AM