PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a simple to use VPN program

eaterofcrisps
October 27th, 2018, 01:03 AM
I'm looking for a VPN that's simple to set up. I really can't make heads nor tails of technical jargon or long lists of terminal commands. I've already downloaded a number of VPN programs but just can't figure out what I'm supposed to do with any of them. One of them, called Riseup-VPN, starts up and just closes. Other ones I've downloaded are far too technical.

I'd like a VPN program that I can just select a location from a list or failing that one with simple instructions. Does anything like this exist for Ubuntu?

I have a paid subscription to Avast SecureLine VPN for Windows by the way. I know it's a long shot but is there any way of using that on Ubuntu?

DuckHook
October 27th, 2018, 01:12 AM
I'm looking for a VPN that's simple to set up. I really can't make heads nor tails of technical jargon or long lists of terminal commands. I've already downloaded a number of VPN programs but just can't figure out what I'm supposed to do with any of them. One of them, called Riseup-VPN, starts up and just closes. Other ones I've downloaded are far too technical.
I'm afraid that there aren't any I'm aware of that are just: download → click a button → install. They all require a greater or lesser amount of fussing with the command line.

I use Private Internet Access (PIA) which has good step-by-step instructions on their website for installation into Linux. It's a paid subscription, though.

I'd like a VPN program that I can just select a location from a list or failing that one with simple instructions. Does anything like this exist for Ubuntu?
This is how PIA works. You will need to sign up to their services first. I have no complaints about their throughput, but you may need to experiment before selecting the best gateway.