PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu 16.04 Installation - Force UEFI Issue when system and iso disk are UEFI

abomstar
October 22nd, 2018, 03:13 AM
Hello,

I am a new user of this forum so please let me know if I am posting this in the incorrect place.

I am experiencing a few issues trying to install Ubuntu 16.04 LTS as a dual boot option on my Lenovo Legion Y730 laptop, but there is one in particular that I can't seem to work past. It is my first time going through with an Ubuntu install so I've been visiting many forums trying to get this working, but I have finally hit a spot where I haven't been able to find a solution.
The main issue I am currently experiencing is when I am going through with the installation setup and it gives you the option to:

Download updates while installing Ubuntu.
Install third-party software for graphics and WiFi hardware, flash, MP3 and other media.

I noticed that my installion would freeze if I included the second option so I have been proceeding from this step by selecting only the first option. Once I press "Continue", I receive the following error:
Force UEFI Installation?
This machine's firmware has started the installer in UEFI mode but it looks like there may be existing operating systems already installed using "BIOS compatibility mode". If you continue to install Debian in UEFI mode, it might be difficult to reboot the machine into any BIOS-mode operating systems later.
If you wish to install in UEFI mode and don't care about keeping the ability to boot one of the existing systems, you have the option to force that here. If you wish to keep the option to boot an existing operating system, you should choose NOT to force UEFI installation here.