PDA

View Full Version : Problem with usb 2.0

alvarojsr
October 16th, 2018, 05:30 PM
Hello there, it's my very first time trying to install an Linux distribution. I'm having some issues, my motherboard only have 2 usb 3.0 ports and when I try to install using an 2.0 port it just won't work ( device descriptor read/64 error -32// unable to find a medium containing a live file system). When I try to install using one of mine usb 3.0 ports it works but my mouse and keyboard on 2.0 just won't work as well, so I have to use only on of them in the remaining 3.0 port. Also the installation is not recognizing the windows 10 already installed on my ssd. What am I doing wrong?

oldos2er
October 16th, 2018, 05:34 PM
Hi, can you tell us the make/model of your computer, and its hardware specs?

alvarojsr
October 16th, 2018, 05:42 PM
Sure
The mobo is ga970-ud3P am3+
2x8gb 1600 hyperx memory
120 gb SSD for os
1tb hd for files
Fx 8350
Asus Rx 580 8gb
Cooler Master 80-plus Gold 750w psu

alvarojsr
October 16th, 2018, 05:45 PM
It goes like this, when mouse and keyboard are on usb 2.0 keyboard lights almost off and mouse won't even light up
When I put either of them on the usb 3.0 port they work
Edit: added a picture of what happens when I try to install from usb 2.0 port
edit 2: removed large images as requested
links for the images : https://i.imgur.com/Nj6AONJ.jpg and https://i.imgur.com/RZwlCAA.jpg

QIII
October 16th, 2018, 05:51 PM
Hello!

Although the boards are not the same, this issue appears to be common among many Gigabyte boards. Please see if this (https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2326722) helps and let us know the outcome.

Cheers!

alvarojsr
October 16th, 2018, 06:07 PM
I put my keyboard on my 3.0 and usb on the other so I could use it, then chooses "try Ubuntu" to access the OS and be able to use the terminal, typed the command and it says " 'gksudo' not found, did you mean gfsudo?"

alvarojsr
October 16th, 2018, 06:42 PM