PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu 18.04 fresh install doesn't boot

cristobaltirado
September 27th, 2018, 08:39 AM
Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to Ubuntu. I used to use it several years ago, but my current laptop is not actually mine, but my company's, and it came with windows. I have persuaded my manager to install Ubuntu, and he has agreed, but I think I might have messed up with "his" laptop...
I have downloaded Ubuntu 18.04, booted in USB mode and performed a clean installation. I chose the option "erase my disk", because my laptop only has a 30GB eMMc hard drive and that didn't give me enough space for a dual boot or similar. There was a message saying the installation would create an EPS partition and a ext4 partition with the 30 GB of rom assigned. Then there was a message saying I needed to unmount a drive in order to proceed.

Then the installation seemed fine but I can't boot, my laptop can't pass the initial manufacturer screen (Acer, in this case), it stays there for two seconds and then there is a couple of lines on top of the screen that disappear so fast that I can't even read them.
I have reinstalled twice, but the problem persists. I have even tried to install the Ubuntu based distro Linux Mint 19, but I have exactly the same situation. So I don't have a OS, because I deleted Windows (and I don't want it back, to be honest) in order to install Ubuntu.

I would really appreciate if I could fix it myself, I don't want to face the situation of telling him we need a technician because I broke his laptop... you know...

Any advice, please?

westie457
September 27th, 2018, 09:21 AM
Which version of Windows did the machine come with?

When you booted the USB did you get a four line menu or a graphical interface?

Did you change any settings in BIOS/UEFI settings pages before trying the installation?

The fix is dependent on your answers to the questions.

cristobaltirado
September 27th, 2018, 09:34 AM