PDA

View Full Version : Portable USB HDD installation

bphillips79
September 21st, 2018, 01:23 AM
Hey folks. Pretty much a noob here. I'm trying to do a portable install 18.04 onto my USB HDD. In the past, when installing (using a jumpdrive) I would just select "something else" when installing and choose the hdd as the bootloader location so as to not install anything on my laptop (thus the portable part). So I just tried installing on a new usb drive and while the install worked fine the drive isn't showing up in the boot manager menu (where I select windows, usb, etc). I've done some Googling and I haven't come across anything which has helped address my problem. I have seen some comments regarding the UEFI so I switched to Legacy in BIOS but no joy. If someone could either explain what I need to do (in simple terms - I'm not that bright) or point me to an accurate explanation, I would greatly appreciate it.

oldfred
September 21st, 2018, 02:45 AM
Legacy will still work if you install in Legacy/BIOS/CSM boot mode and then have system set to boot in that mode.

If UEFI, bit more effort required.
You must partition in advance using gpt and include an ESP - efi system partition. UEFI only boots external drives from /EFI/Boot/Bootx64.efi. That same file name is used by both Windows & Ubuntu installers.
And Ubuntu's grub only installs to the ESP on first drive, usually sda, or first NVMe drive.
I copy all of /EFI/ubuntu from internal drive twice, once to /EFI/ubuntu as shimx64.efi expects to see that, and then to /EFI/Boot and rename shimx64.efi to bootx64.efi.
You do have to turn on in UEFI allow usb boot, but you must have do that to boot install media.

See also link in my signature.
Full install to external drive.
https://askubuntu.com/questions/16988/how-do-i-install-ubuntu-to-a-usb-key-without-using-startup-disk-creator
(https://askubuntu.com/questions/16988/how-do-i-install-ubuntu-to-a-usb-key-without-using-startup-disk-creator)