PDA

View Full Version : new install failure on ASROCK b450m-hdl / Ryzen 3 2200g

gmussman
September 2nd, 2018, 03:41 PM
Hello,
So, I have no experience in Linux, and this is a first-time computer build for me, using the main board and chip in the title and an SSD hard drive that is also new. I was going to run Ubuntu (its free, and I'm kind of curious about it). I made a bootable USB using a mac (formatted USB to FAT, using Etch to create the USB, image is ubuntu-18.04.1-desktop-amd64.iso . When I power on, I can get to the BIOS, but when I boot from the USB I get the following screens and errors (sorry for rotation on first). Any idea what's happening here and how to fix it?

TheFu
September 3rd, 2018, 01:35 AM
I'd try setting the BIOS to "safe" values. If that doesn't work, then I'd start looking through the BIOS settings, reading up on what every one of them means.

And I'd google for the board + ubuntu + install to see if anyone else has reported issues.
While doing that, run through a memtest for 12+ hrs to see if memory issues are any concern.

gmussman
September 3rd, 2018, 01:53 PM
Thanks for the reply.

I've been looking through the manual and I can change ACPI settings, so I'll give that a go.

The BIOS is not picking up the RAM correctly -- it has the frequency wrong, so I'll try the memtest too.

gmussman
September 3rd, 2018, 02:16 PM
Well I can't run memtest because I don't have another working 64-bit computer to extract the EXE on. I'll see if I can find a workaround.

TheFu
September 3rd, 2018, 02:33 PM
ryzen is known for being VERY picky about RAM. Is the RAM you have on the approved RAM for the motherboard? If not, I would try slowing it down first, but expect to return it and buy RAM that is specifically listed on the compatible RAM list from the motherboard vendor.

oldfred
September 3rd, 2018, 08:18 PM
The issue may not be ACPI errors, I have Intel and get a couple of those on every boot. But system works ok.