PDA

View Full Version : Newly cloned ssd will not boot into Ubuntu 18.04 but it will boot into Windows 10.

ddray
July 19th, 2018, 08:39 AM
Hi, I am new to the Linux world and have made a successful installation of Ubuntu 18.04 on a couple of laptops. I have been loving it so far, but I have recently ran into a problem. I decided to upgrade my Dell Inspiron 7537 hybrid drive to a new ssd from Crucial. In the process I used an Inatek usb caddy and Macrium Reflect cloning software. When it was completed Macrium shows the two drives one on top of the other so we can see that the new clone has identical info and all looked good. So, I installed the new ssd and it will boot into Windows 10 immediately and completely bypass the Grub menu (old drive went straight to Grub and gave me the option for which OS I want to boot from). Also, when I press f12 upon booting the boot menu will show Ubuntu, but when I click on it the system boots Windows instead. Furthermore, I decided to boot from the usb that I originally installed Ubuntu from (thinking of a fresh install) and I can get into the Grub menu. However, when I click on Ubuntu it will turn on the bootloader screen and instead of booting it will end with a black page that has some kind of failing text. I forget what the text says but I can come back and post it.

Update on black screen, 4 lines:
Couldn’t get size
Failed to set xfermode (err_mask=0x40)
Busybox v1.27.2
(Initramfs) unable to find a medium containing a live file system.

TheFu
July 19th, 2018, 02:43 PM
I would have used dd or ddrescue to clone a disk from A to B while booted from alternate media (aka a flash drive). This is a bit-for-bit copy. The only reason I wouldn't do this is if the sector sizes for the 2 HDDs were different. That's usually 512b and 4Kb. Getting misaligned partitions has performance impacts on spinning disks.