PDA

View Full Version : Making a serial mouse work

aggiechemist
April 4th, 2005, 09:41 PM
I'm a noob who just installed Ubuntu, and I had issues getting my serial mouse to respond. First, let me thank the forum community. I found some great answers out there and I really appreciate that.

Ive borrowed some stuff from this post, so I want to give them credit =D> :
http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2945&highlight=serial+mouse

This post is to add a little to what was out there, as well as to note a couple of changes in Hoary (as most of the posts I used were for Warty).

If you install with a serial mouse, and you get no response, you need to alter one of you config files. The file you need to edit is either

Warty: /etc/X11/XF86Config-4
Hoary: /etc/X11/xorg.conf

In order to get there and do that, do the following:

Get to the login window for Ubuntu. Press Ctrl+Alt+F1 to get to the console.
To get to the text editor, type
sudo nano /etc/X11/###

where you write your file name there at the end.

Scroll down through the file until you find the section for the mouse.
Change the line area that says
/dev/mouse/generic

to read /dev/ttys0

Note: that 0 is a zero, not a big letter O. I messed that up, and it took me hours to figure out why.

I've also found that you should change to protocol setion to read "Microsoft." I've only found this in some help guides, so I'm not sure how neccesary it is.

All you do now is hit ctrl+x to leave the editor, and y to say you want to save, and press enter to save the new file over the old one.

To finish up, you can do the following (I copied it from that forum I referenced earlier)

Hit alt-F7 to get back to the mouseless X window.
Hit ctrl-alt-backspace to exit X.
In the console that X exits to, start X again by typing startx&
Serial mouse should now be working.

That was kind of complicated for me, so I just rebooted after saving the file. It worked for me. :)