PDA

View Full Version : Stuck in boot loop after upgrading from 17.10 to 18.04

echemdaniel
May 13th, 2018, 09:27 PM
Hello all, I'm having a challenge after upgrading from 17.10 to 18.04. The package download and installation process was successful (through update center). The laptop was required to reboot, to complete the upgrade, but it never made to the login screen after displaying the Ubuntu boot splash screen with the dots. It kept displaying "[ok] started gnome display manager at...link was shut down", as the last line on a black screen.

I'm running this as a dual boot on my Dell Inspiron 15 7537 with Intel HD Graphics Card.

I'm new to Linux. Any help would be appreciated.

avidhunter3
May 14th, 2018, 03:51 AM
I just upgraded my Compaq Presario from 16.04 and it hangs at the same point. I do note that further up the credits list there is one line item that does not have a green OK at the beginning but rather a red astrix. The line states "A start job is running for hold until boot process finishes up (1min 9s / no limit)". I strongly suspect that we have the same issue. Please help us both.

wildmanne39
May 14th, 2018, 03:55 AM
Hello and welcome to the forum avidhunter3, please create your own thread so the OP of this one and yourself can receive the help you both need.

Thanks

mörgæs
May 14th, 2018, 04:48 PM
Have you considered a fresh install of 18.04?

moschops
May 15th, 2018, 04:42 AM
Having the exact same problem on a System 76 Galago Ultrapro - only nVida graphics. Upgrade from 17.10 using the standard upgrade UI.

I'm able to Ctrl-Alt-F2 and login eventually (takes a few attempts to get username and password entered), then sudo init 3 to get the looping UI to stop. From which I conclude this isn't a boot loop, it's the graphical frontend looping. Someone claimed to fix it with reinstall of xserver but that didn't work for me.