PDA

View Full Version : fresh install of 18.04LTS no-boot condition

egiles
May 12th, 2018, 04:02 AM
Hello there, quick summary of my issue. I've been messing around with a living room media computer using ubuntu the past month or so and I originally had ubuntu 17 installed (no windows) and it was running fine. When 18 came out i did a fresh install from usb (same as 17, did not install alongside or upgrade. fresh install) and i cannot get it to boot to desktop environment on its own. it freezes during the ubuntu logo/loading screen right after the mouse appears. If i let it sit the montior eventually loses its input. I suspect the issue lies somewhere in the graphics side of things but i just can't figure it out. I can boot to desktop environment no problem if i go through rescue mode (shift at startup, from HDD). Does anyone have any ideas? I'm an advanced user (electrical enginner) but I'm fairly new to Linux in general so please tell me the info you need and how to get it to streamline this process. I've already tried repairing grub and ive even gone as far as putting in a win7 disc and repairing to get rid of grub altogether and fresh installing 18 again to no avail. Let me know what you need.

Edit: I haven't tried "killing" the HDD for a 100% fresh install but as i said before, I strongly believe my issue is graphical. Could the fact that when booting desktop from rescue mode I can't even get my display's natural resolution be a hint? I've also tried 2 different monitors as well. I believe its an internal hardware issue.

Edit2: I also haven't tried fresh installing 17 and upgrading from there. I kinda wanted to just go the fresh-install route (it really makes me feel better ;) ) so any suggestions on that are appreciated too

Edit3: system specs export from hardinfo: https://files.fm/u/bk9tdvwe

yancek
May 12th, 2018, 04:46 AM