PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Limited Internet bandwidth - 18 machines to install

0cs935-bill
April 18th, 2018, 05:02 AM
I'm new to Ubuntu, having been strictly on Fedora since FC2 through their latest which is F27.

I need to install Ubuntu 16 | 17 on my 18 boxes. I'd like to do what I've done on Fedora to limit downloads to "master" machines and seed the .deb files to secondary machines. I just don't know how to do it.

On a "master" machine, I would do normal package maintenance that, do to my location and expensive/limited bandwidth takes a very long time. I'd like to seed all the .deb files from that process to the secondary machines so that when it's time for them to get new packages, they already have the bulk of them local. Not every machine is identical to the master, so just scripting a forced .deb file install isn't the solution. I want to seed the masters .deb files and then allow the normal package maintenance on any given secondary machine to take over and NOT download what it already has.

Under the Fedora scheme, I wrote a script that would scp from master to secondary. I'd like to cook up a script under Ubuntu to do the same thing but experimentally I've not figured out the necessary steps.

Suggestions?
Reading list?
Internet sites to visit?
... ?

kerry_s
April 18th, 2018, 06:04 AM
it should be pretty much the same as in fedora. just change your dnf options to apt/apt-get options in your script.

it's all linux underneath there's only slight changes from distro to distro.

sudo dnf update-> sudo apt update && sudo apt full-upgrade
(like fedora you can add "-y" to automate it, so you don't have to press "y" to continue)

i'm sure other options are common if you talking command line, there should be little to no difference.