PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ubuntu install on P50 failed

isagarran2
April 12th, 2018, 07:55 PM
Hello
I was previously on another laptop on Ubuntu 14.04 and I was very happy to be on Linux.

I got a new computer , a Lenovo P50 with Windows 10 installed. I is supposed to support Linux also. Perhpas not all functionnality but I don't care. If Ubuntu runs on it , it is sufficient.

My problem is quite basic. I put the DVD to boot and install Ubuntu 16.04. I choosed install gnome option. At the end, I am in a live session user without Ubuntu installed.

Could you give me some advices ? What did I do wrongly ?

I set in the bios Secure boot to disabled. I let UEFI only set as if i set another option, I'm no longer prompt with the option "install gnome"

Thanks for your help. I'll appreciate.

Regards.Isagaran

yancek
April 12th, 2018, 10:18 PM
I would suggest you start with the official Ubuntu documentation at the link below on dual booting Ubuntu with windows 10 UEFI. Almost any pre-installed windows 10 will be UEFI so you need to boot and install Ubuntu UEFI also and you need to also make sure that hibernation is totally off on windows.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UEFI

mörgæs
April 13th, 2018, 06:33 AM
In addition to the advice above I suggest that you try the soon to be released 18.04 in stead of 16.04.

isagarran2
April 13th, 2018, 07:12 AM
Hello,
Thanks for the advices. Alas, I've no choice on the version. My company certified 16.04 and not yet 18.04. I'l have a look on above link. It sounds good.
I'll let you know.
Regards.

isagarran2
April 13th, 2018, 08:42 AM
Hello
I think I missed something. I follow the link advices

Use a 64bit disk of Ubuntu. OK
Secure Boot "Off". OK
In your firmware, disable QuickBoot/FastBoot , set from "Quick" to "Diagnostics" OK
disable Intel Smart Response Technology (SRT). No SRT Option OK