PDA

View Full Version : Menus for ubuntu flexible

jonnykickinbut
April 10th, 2018, 05:27 AM
I run a Mate session/environment. The problem I have is whatever configuration tools I'(graphical menu editors or menu manager) they all seem to lack the ability to interface with the basic structure of the ubuntu menu.

Meaning the menus titled Applications/Places/System, and what I want to know is, which tool I could use that would allow me to change the order, replace, rearrange or redesign these menus for my panel.

Since I am new to ubuntu, I would prefer a ready to go solution for this if one is available, otherwise I will be constantly reviewing the menu files themselves for mistakes (that sounds worse definitely :p)

The actual change I had in mind is something that can sort of almost be done already with the options in the Tweak (to hide 2 out of the 3 menus thus creating a single button menu, like MSwindows has as an example menu structure I like for some reason ):P

vanadium
April 10th, 2018, 09:56 AM
Menu items in principle are placed automatically in categories according to the information in its .desktop file provided by the software maker. Alacarte is a graphical tool that allows you edit the menu, hide items, rearrange items, etc.

Indeed, in Mate, could switch to a more modern menu that also allows for search and launch, rather than the classical (and allegedly perhaps outdated) triple menu. The next Ubuntu Mate edition in fact will make the switch.

kerry_s
April 10th, 2018, 10:05 AM
I run a Mate session/environment. The problem I have is whatever configuration tools I'(graphical menu editors or menu manager) they all seem to lack the ability to interface with the basic structure of the ubuntu menu.

Meaning the menus titled Applications/Places/System, and what I want to know is, which tool I could use that would allow me to change the order, replace, rearrange or redesign these menus for my panel.