PDA

View Full Version : Whats the best digital camera for €1000 ? ( lens inculeded )

PingunZ
August 18th, 2006, 01:13 PM
Well I'd like to start photographing. Since I'm a beginner ( no experience ) I'd like to hear your opinions.
What is the best Camera for €1000 ( same as 1000$ ;) )
I was thinking about the D70s but thats just cause I know someone with that camera.
So... tell me, what camera should I buy and why ?

Cheers.

fuscia
August 18th, 2006, 05:33 PM
whatever you get, make sure you get the densest picture possible (highest megapixels possible) and pick optical zoom over over digital zoom. i got my nikon coolpix5600 for $400. it's got 5.2 megapixels. it has a 4x optical zoom (and i don't know, or care how much digital zoom). the lens seems to be of the same quality as the nikkor film camera lenses.

Brunellus
August 18th, 2006, 05:38 PM
sensor size (physically!) and noise is as important, sometimes more so, than simple pixel count. small, high-pixel-count sensors tend to be unacceptably noisy, I find. Not much fun.

I'm still of the school that hates zoom lenses. When buying zooms keep the following attributes in mind: sharp, fast, long zoom range, cheap. Pick three. Zooms are more complex, optically and mechanically, than equivalently-priced fixed-focal length lenses--they will be heavier, slower (smaller maximum apertures), and less sharp.

Any of the major DSLR makers will be a good choice, along with a 35mm f/2 lens.

I personally use a Pentax *istDS--I like Pentax gear, have always done, and it's a relatively easy camera to use with old manual-focus lenses (which is how I like to work).

(gee. reading my photographic preferences, it's not hard to see why I like Linux, too.)

PingunZ
August 18th, 2006, 06:21 PM
I'd like to see links and comments :)
If you give some specs, make sure you explain them cause I'm really new to photography.

javierfh
August 18th, 2006, 06:35 PM
Hi,

i have got D70 and cant be happier.
Im not sure what are your needs.