PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] LiveUSB doesn't boot

thebittenpeach
March 24th, 2018, 03:12 PM
Hello,

I am new to Ubuntu though I am no beginner in PC.
I was trying to install Ubuntu 17.10 on my Win 10 notebook but without success... I downloaded the right iso x64 file and used Rufus to mount it on my 1st USB stick. When I visited the UEFI page, the USB wasn't listed there. So I tried to use 2nd USB and again, without success. The format was always fat32, I tried all the partition schemes (MBT & GPT for UEFI, MBT for BIOS & UEFI)... I don't know what I did wrong. I search the solution for so long (2nd day now) and it's still not working. I even tried to disable Secure boot.

Somewhere on the web was written that I should change the Boot settings or whatever to Legacy, but I do not see the option anywhere in UEFI.

Would someone be willing to help me? It would be much appreciated.

My PC is Acer Spin 1 x64, Windows 10, quite new (I have never installed any OS on it, I only once did a clean reinstall).

C.S.Cameron
March 24th, 2018, 04:17 PM
The latest UNetbootin has worked for me making boot drives that work with both BIOS and UEFI from a Windows machine.
Mkusb works from a Linux machine

thebittenpeach
March 24th, 2018, 05:06 PM
I just tried the UNetbootin program and the result is still the same - no booting of the USB and UEFI can't see any USB connected.

C.S.Cameron
March 24th, 2018, 06:05 PM
Hmm. YUMI has a beta UEFI version that also worked for me.

thebittenpeach
March 24th, 2018, 08:52 PM
Hmm. YUMI has a beta UEFI version that also worked for me.

I might try that too but I don't think it's gonna work either. Think the problem's somewhere else.

yancek
March 24th, 2018, 09:05 PM