PDA

View Full Version : im stuck at #4 of the tutorial "Partition scheme and ISO selection"

fixlaptop
February 23rd, 2018, 09:50 AM
https://tutorials.ubuntu.com/tutorial/tutorial-create-a-usb-stick-on-windows#3

am i suppose to change anything?

also what is this doing, is this 'transferring' the iso to the usb?

or is this 'flashing' to the usb? or what?

do you need to select anything or can it just auto-transfer? by itsefl?

--

im not technical

please use simple words so i understand

kerry_s
February 23rd, 2018, 10:54 AM
if your on windows 10 you want the uefi boot.
you should just be selecting the iso to put on the usb.

sudodus
February 23rd, 2018, 10:54 AM
The default settings are probably good but ...

Please tell us about your computer, brand name and model (or if a custom built system, brand name and model of the motherboard). Please tell us also when the computer or motherboard was manufactured (approximately which year).

Which version of Windows are you running in the computer? Was Windows installed by the manufacturer/vendor, or by you? Do you know if you are booting in UEFI mode or BIOS mode (alias CSM alias legacy mode)?

When we know this, it will be easier to give you relevant advice.

fixlaptop
February 23rd, 2018, 11:00 AM
UEFI mode

i dunno, i dont understand this

dell inspiron n7110

win10

https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2385584&p=13742121

are some options better to pick for this os

and this hardware?

do they affect anything significantly

im not installing it right now, im just following the steps on a usb

kerry_s
February 23rd, 2018, 11:01 AM
another program that can create the usb boot device is unetbootin-> http://unetbootin.github.io/

kerry_s
February 23rd, 2018, 11:05 AM
just make sure the only drive your selecting is the usb drive.

fixlaptop
February 23rd, 2018, 11:07 AM
http://unetbootin.github.io/

im confused, am i suppoed to use this??

is there a link for the steps for this thing?

is this better?