PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Toshiba Satellite - No Media Found boot error

cdegroot2
February 14th, 2018, 11:08 PM
Hello,

I have installed Ubuntu on my Toshiba Satellite L50-A-1EH, the installation went flawlessly without any issues. I installed it using a USB pendrive and it is a single boot (the HDD has been completely formatted by the Ubuntu installation).
Booting the system fails, resulting in a No Media Found message from the system.

I have run the boot-repair tool from the "Try Ubuntu" live version from the pendrive, and it gave me the following pastebin: http://paste.ubuntu.com/p/4jbNMdNt8Y/ (http://paste.ubuntu.com/p/4jbNMdNt8Y)
I have tried to run the system using UEFI/CMS with Secure Boot On/Off, but nothing works.

The UEFI ends in the "Checking Media...No Media Present" screen and the CMS/AHCI boot ends in a loop of searching for something bootable from my network card.

I'm quite new to this process, and I had hoped it would work "Out of the Box". Any help would be greatly appreciated, I'm excited to get into Ubuntu!

PS: I have searched these forums and haven't found topics describing the same problem, so I'm posting my own.

strixtux
February 15th, 2018, 08:06 AM
It might help to enter setup during boot and rearrange boot options.

cdegroot2
February 15th, 2018, 10:39 AM
It might help to enter setup during boot and rearrange boot options.

I have, the boot options are rearranged so the HDD is on top, I removed the USB pendrive so it wouldn't boot from that one.

strixtux
February 16th, 2018, 08:28 AM
Looks like hardware damage. Pull the HDD and check it in another computer as an external HDD via USB. Might give a clue or two.
Could be a mainboard trouble as well, possibly a loose plug.

cdegroot2
February 18th, 2018, 12:44 AM
I tested the HDD and there's absolutely nothing wrong with it, it passed all tests from DiskCheckup. I think it has something to do with the BIOS setting, but I can't figure it out.