PDA

View Full Version : Installing new harddrive(not ssd) on server

blumarmalade
February 14th, 2018, 09:09 AM
Hi, i've just aquired a WD red drive for my 16.04 server but i'm unsure how to install it as i'm completely new to linux. I'm taking a course on lunux, but i just want to get this done right.

Background:
So i'm developing a media streaming app that needs a harddrive for large video files(I know an ssd is better but i only have this old harddrive to use). The app streams the video to an url that is to be used for another mobile app. I already got the app running behind nginx. But this harddrive must also function as a share with windows machines, so that users can put their movies here.

In short:
Could anyone point me in a direction on how to add this drive on a headless server? I'm talking very basic stuff like formating(would ext4 be correct for my use?) it and partitioning it and putting it in the best directory for my usecase. I'm used to windows, but even there I remember I had to do some magic to set up these old harddrives unlike ssd.

Any help much appreciated :)

TheFu
February 14th, 2018, 08:01 PM
There is nothing different that I know between using a spinning disk and a normal SATA connected SSD on Linux.
Assuming you are booting from other media and these disks are NOT for RAID and you have a backup solution planned (data loss sucks).
There are no absolutes, but a few ideas:
* Ensure GPT partition table is made.
* Use parted to make partitions. I'd use 1.
* Use LVM to make physical volumes (full partition), volume groups (full partition) and at least 1 logical volume (20% of the available space for now). There are many reasons for using LVM. Do not allocate all the available storage to the LV. It makes sense on SSDs too, BTW.
* mkfs on the LV - I'd use ext4