kekstastisch
February 2nd, 2018, 05:38 PM
Hey guys!
I wanted to install ubuntu on a usb drive
I know about live versions but those reset everything you do on them

So i got 2 usb sticks
One with the ubuntu image
And an empty 32 gig on witch i installed ubunu on

I plugged both into my windows laptop and started the installation and chose the 32 gig usb stick
The installation was done and told me to reboot

But i removed both drives to look if windows was still working

Then this showed up https://m.imgur.com/FARLa7E

Even if i put the drives back it does the same

Please help

oldos2er
February 2nd, 2018, 05:45 PM
Is your system UEFI or MBR? Please tell us your hardware specs.

ubfan1
February 2nd, 2018, 05:46 PM
That's bug 1173457. You should be able to boot Windows with the 32G USB present. If the grub menu with Windows does not boot Windows, maybe secure boot needs to be disabled.

kekstastisch
February 2nd, 2018, 05:50 PM
@ubfan I am really sorry i am a noob in linux so please explain stel by step

Its an uefi

Asus gl502vs
Really expensive
Nvidia 1070 16gb
Intel 7800hq
A nvme ssd and a 1t hdd

I dont even see a menue thats the problem

Omg did i mess my laptop up i am panicing

ubfan1
February 2nd, 2018, 06:14 PM
Don't panic, only the bootloader is in the wrong place (the hard disk, not your fault). I have to go out a bit, but will check in later if more help needed. Try putting the USB you installed to (not the install media USB) and see if you get the grub menu.

kekstastisch
February 2nd, 2018, 06:31 PM
Still the same
Thanks for help
I need it fast

yancek
February 2nd, 2018, 06:31 PM
You may have mixed MBR and EFI installs. If you can boot the Ubuntu install usb, do that and run the following command and post the output.

sudo parted -l

Lower case letter L in the command. This will be useful to see if you have an EFI partition. If you do you can boot Ubuntu from the grub prompt you now see on boot.

kansasnoob
February 2nd, 2018, 06:35 PM