PDA

View Full Version : What software comes on the Ubuntu CD

muzza
April 4th, 2005, 02:42 PM
What software comes on the Ubuntu CD?

I am eagerly awaiting my Ubuntu CD, but am concerned that it may be a bit thin on software programs. I only have a 56K modem and am worried that I will spend the first few weeks downloading.
Could someone give me an idea what comes on the Ubuntu CD? My software wish list would include OOo, an MP3 ripper/player, DV movie editor, DVD editor, DVD/CD burner, Gimp, Qcad, web design/ftp, Firefox and Thunderbird. I DID look on the main Ubuntu site, but it's a bit vague with specifics.

I believe that it comes with OOo and Firefox, but will I have to download ALL of the others?

I had a nightmare with Mandrake 10.1, but with 6 CDs, there seems no end to the choice of software. Would it be possible to load some of the programs from the Mandrake CD? (Considering I am a clueless newbie with only 2 unsuccessful Linux weeks under my belt!) I am aware that there is a different method of installing software on Debian or RPM distros, but that's as much as I know. Can the programs be made to be compatible? (It would save me a few hours waiting for downloads)

bigzak
April 4th, 2005, 03:47 PM
I am eagerly awaiting my Ubuntu CD, but am concerned that it may be a bit thin on software programs. I only have a 56K modem and am worried that I will spend the first few weeks downloading.
Could someone give me an idea what comes on the Ubuntu CD? My software wish list would include OOo, an MP3 ripper/player, DV movie editor, DVD editor, DVD/CD burner, Gimp, Qcad, web design/ftp, Firefox and Thunderbird. I DID look on the main Ubuntu site, but it's a bit vague with specifics.