PDA

View Full Version : NEWBIE Go Back to windows?

tryme66
December 16th, 2017, 05:38 AM
So yeah guys, I downloaded Ubuntu since 3 days, erase all my Windows 10 to have some change, so I know the basic stuff on computer nothing with Linux & I keep having troubles USB Key not reading, apps not launching, Busybox at the start some error message, I lost all the data I've made these days, trying to backup for not losing again my data & failed, etc, Prolly cause i'm a noob. So my question is am I better to return with windows & learn with Virtualbox ( but all know I'm not gonna be all the time on this ) or learn the hard way? What is the best to learn good & quickly

It's new for me I really like for now if we forget all the troubles, it's maybe because of all the apps I download & the update of the OS, I don't know what I'm doing wrong.
I'm french that's why my english is not really good my bad.

DuckHook
December 16th, 2017, 06:21 AM
How on earth can we answer this for you?

Consider: we would have to know what drove you away from Windows, what your tolerance is for risk, frustration, obscurity and learning, what is actually causing you problems (simple or complex), what your level of knowledge is, and not least, your motives for wanting to learn Ubuntu. Only you can decide which way is best for you.

I will add that if you want to experiment in Ubuntu, then the best way is to make a pristine install of Ubuntu and then don't touch that one any further. Instead, install a VM like VirtualBox or KVM, then install another instance of one of the lighter 'buntus in the VM, and do all of your experimenting on that. Take a snapshot of the VM before you do anything to it and roll back to the snapshot if anything goes wrong.

BTW, your English is fine. My admiration for posting on a site that is not in your native tongue.

PS

Since this is not really a technical support question, thread moved to The Cafe as the more appropriate forum.

mastablasta