PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] UEFI Boot problem.

lostbuzzard99
December 5th, 2017, 07:01 AM
I'm a novice to Ubuntu, but loved it during the trial and decided to install dual boots on a couple of older computers. My goal was to have an operating system that required less strain on the hardware and resouces. I've had success on installing it on two desktops and one had the challenge you mentioned. I found that the problem was windows had already used 4 partitions. Since one was solely for recovery, I created recovery discs (DVD or Thumb Drive), then verified which partition was the recovery one and used Partition Assistant to delete the recovery partition. I then installed Ubuntu and chose a drive size for it that was a little less than half of what I had available. My only challenge now, is on my laptop, the menu that comes up during the boot process that allows you to select to boot windows or Ubuntu, does not show up. When the boot is set to Legacy, Ubuntu boots up and when the boot is set to UEFI, Windows boots up. Rather than hitting escape to change the boot method, I would like to fix things to make that boot option menu come up. Any help would be appreciated.

howefield
December 5th, 2017, 11:31 AM
Post moved to its own thread.

yancek
December 5th, 2017, 02:47 PM
That is expected behavior when you have one system installed UEFI (windows) and the other in the older MBR/Legacy mode. Simplest way on a new install is to re-install. Read the link below before you try to re-install since it is the official Ubuntu documentation on dual booting UEFI. If you scroll down that page, there is a section on converting to UEFI if you want to try that,

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UEFI

oldfred
December 5th, 2017, 04:10 PM
You do not have to have both systems boot in same mode, but much easier.
And generally better to use whatever mode Windows is installed in UEFI or BIOS boot.