PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't seem to install Ubuntu - help!

furious-bruce
November 21st, 2017, 12:33 PM
Forgive me if this has already been posted / answered in another forum, I'm a first timer.

I'm trying to set up an old travel laptop of mine for my son so we can learn together how to make a Minecraft Server and mod it - I thought I'd give him a kickstart in life and get him to learn how to use Ubuntu.

I work in IT, but I'm in Service Management so my knowledge in this field (my knowledge in every field...) is limited.

I first ran in to trouble when the EPC wouldn't boot off a USB - so I had to do the workaround of burning uber-v2-install on to a DVD and booting off that, and using the USB along with it. I thought I was doing some really good computering, but....

I've attempted to install Ubermix, and I was confronted with the error 'This kernel requires an x86-64 CPU, but only detected an i686 CPU. Unable to boot – please use a kernel appropriate for your CPU'

Thinking that this is due to the EPC being 32 bit and Ubermix being 64, I got the 32bit lite version of Ubermix. I still got the same result.

I've now tried ubuntu-16.04.3-desktop-i386 - and it's still giving me the same error message.

The laptop itself is around 10 years old.

System Overview.
ASUS Eee PC ACPI BIOS Revision 1206
Core Version:1206
Build Date: 10/07/08
EC Firmware Version:EPCB-017

Processor
Type: Intel (R) Atom CPU N270 @1.60ghz
Speed: 1600MHz
Count: 1

System Memory
Installed Size: 2048MB.

There's no option in the BIOS to enable Intel VT, which is the workaround that Google suggested.

Is there a version specific to this laptop that I should be using? Have you guys got any advice or suggestions on how I can get us up and running?

Thank you in advance - my 8 year old will get such a kick out of all your help.

slickymaster
November 21st, 2017, 12:36 PM
Thread moved to Installation & Upgrades for a better fit

jaweewo
November 21st, 2017, 12:38 PM