PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Crouton won't boot after ChromeOS update

sduverge
November 17th, 2017, 04:42 PM
I have an HP Chromebook, I have been booting Xubuntu from Crouton for the past 3 months, occasional updates made no changes to Crouton.

Today, latest update left crouton out of service, I need to boot back in or at least take out certain files before doing a wipe out. I need access to the hidden partition Crouton makes to install Linux (at least).

I keep getting this message when I try to start xubuntu and it gets stuck at 24% and logs out.
crosh> shell
chronos@localhost / $ sudo enter-chroot startxfce4
Entering /mnt/stateful_partition/crouton/chroots/xenial...
A chroot setup script still exists inside the chroot.
The chroot may not be fully set

crosh> shellchronos@localhost / $ sudo enter-chroot startxfce4
The chroot may not be fully set up.
Would you like to finish the setup? [Y/n/d]

and then this error

Error org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.UnknownMethod: Method "ReleaseDisplayOwnership" with signature "" on interface "org.chromium.LibCrosServiceInterface" doesn't exist

xf86EnableIOPorts: failed to set IOPL for I/O (Operation not permitted)
Error org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.UnknownMethod: Method "ReleaseDisplayOwnership" with signature "" on interface "org.chromium.LibCrosServiceInterface" doesn't exist

xf86EnableIOPorts: failed to set IOPL for I/O (Operation not permitted)
(EE)
Fatal server error:
(EE) AddScreen/ScreenInit failed for driver 0
(EE)
(EE)
Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support
at http://wiki.x.org
for help.
(EE) Please also check the log file at "/tmp/Xorg.crouton.1.log" for additional information.
(EE)
Error org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.UnknownMethod: Method "TakeDisplayOwnership" with signature "" on interface "org.chromium.LibCrosServiceInterface" doesn't exist

(EE) Server terminated with error (1). Closing log file.
/usr/bin/xinit: giving up
/usr/bin/xinit: unable to connect to X server: Connection refused