PDA

View Full Version : Two Ubuntu OSs on UEFI; how to change which manages grub?

ajgreeny
November 16th, 2017, 10:15 PM
Can one of you UEFI gurus please help me figure out how I can install 18.04 to a UEFI system that already has a working 16.04, but retain grub being managed by 16.04, not 18.04.

I think I need to use efibootmgr, but as is sometimes the way with man pages, man efibootmgr is not as helpful as I would wish; either that or I am not very good at reading and understanding man pages.

My current system has both an unused 14.04 and my current 16.04 on a single hard disk. I wish to install 18.04 on the 14.04 root partition, keeping my current /home partition as it is, but I will mount it using fstab as a data partition in 18.04, and then use symbolic links to the data folders to avoid any potential config problems between 16.04 and 18.04.

I want 16.04 to retain grub management, not for it to move to 18.04 which I am certain is what will happen at installation of 18.04.
Can I still boot to 16.04 from the 18.04 grub menu and from 16.04 run
sudo grub-install /dev/sda as I could with a BIOS system, or does that no longer work?

kansasnoob
November 16th, 2017, 10:42 PM
According to my own notes (which i haven't used in nearly a year) you'd boot into 16.04 and run:

sudo apt-get install --reinstall grub-efi

Followed by:

sudo grub-install /dev/sdX where X is changed to the proper drive

sudo update-grub

But my memory stinks and my notes could be wrong :(

oldfred
November 17th, 2017, 12:59 AM
I think the reinstall of grub from 16.04 may work.

The the real issues is that all versions/flavors (except Kubuntu) of Ubuntu use one UEFI entry /EFI/ubuntu for booting.
But it turns out the only difference is the 3 line /EFI/ubuntu/grub.cfg configfile (chain type entry) that looks like this:

search.fs_uuid 5c1e1a3f-261f-4da5-a0c2-8f479b3039de root hd0,gpt2
set prefix=($root)'/boot/grub'
configfile $prefix/grub.cfg