PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Trying to upgrade from 16.04 to 17.10 on a Dual-Boot system - stuck in initramfs

bschwartz757
October 21st, 2017, 01:01 AM
Hello!

I just tried to upgrade from 16.04 to 17.10 - had it on a USB stick and was in trial mode, then decided to go ahead and install it. I have a dual-boot setup with Ubuntu 16.04 which I've been using as my primary system for about6 months, and Windows 10 which I rarely touch anymore (although I am a recovering Windows user.) I like to have the option and have some files there I don't have on my Linux machine.

After starting the upgrade process, I saw a message that said the drive partition was causing an issue. I tried pressing the 'go back' button, but the system appeared frozen. The 'continue' button also didn't work. I finally gave up and hard-restarted the machine, and went to one of those 'waiting for boot sequence' screens. I waited a while and then hard restarted.

Now, I'm able to boot into the grub menu and select Advanced Options - but I get a list of ubuntu versions (backup images?) and not an option to select 'Root' which is what all the threads I've found tell you to do. Instead, when I select one from the list the system spits out a bunch of info and then I'm dropped into an (initramfs) prompt, it looks like I'm on a really stripped-down version of bash (looks like it's BusyBox - Ash). I can't execute any commands as sudo as it says sudo is not found in /bin/sh.

I've been trying to follow directions from https://askubuntu.com/questions/901402/kernel-panic-cant-exit and http://www.rffuste.com/2016/10/01/ubuntu-16-04-a-start-job-is-running-for-hold-until-boot-finishes-up-error/, but don't have enough reputation to actually post comments to any running threads.