PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Installing Xubuntu onto a USB stick

mantas4682
October 8th, 2017, 08:47 PM
Hello, I'm sorry if this is a stupid question and the answer is probably already out there, but I'm new to this and I just can't wrap my mind around it.

I'm trying to get Xubuntu onto a USB stick, which I think I did? What I assume I've entered is a Live Session to try out Xubuntu and that would be enough for me, I know there is persistent data that saves between sessions but after my initial try any other boots fail to load, the splash screen just goes on forever, nothing seems to be happening. The other option on boot is to Install Xubuntu which I assume would attempt to install it onto my hard drive and not the mounted USB which I want it on. My hard drive is damaged, so Windows are hardly working and I cannot afford a new computer nor do I want to spend anything extra on this old, crummy laptop. I really liked what I got when I was trying out Xubuntu and it would definitely do until I can justify a replacement. Can I get it to act like a persistent OS as if it were installed onto my hard drive?

ian-weisser
October 8th, 2017, 08:56 PM
Welcome to the forums.

In order to make your current Live environment persistent, you must reformat your USB stick to create a persistence partition. This will destroy you current Live .iso image, so you must re-create your Xubuntu Live on the properly-prepared USB stick.

Alternately, you can install a full Xubuntu system onto a second USB stick. A Live USB cannot overwrite itself. You must change a couple settings in the installer to install to USB instead of HDD.

Neither option is particularly difficult, and many tools and tutorials are available.
However, you must pay close attention to the feedback from those tools. Sometimes things go wrong.