PDA

View Full Version : Participating on StackOverflow

Drone4four
September 17th, 2017, 02:36 AM
I'm new to posting to StackOverflow. I have only 1 reputation point and it says I can only post more than 2 hyper links once I have 10 reputation points or more. I get that it's prolly a measure taken to prevent spam bots. When I just specify the URLs, the parser automatically wraps it as hyper. I'm trying to just make my URL to parse as plain text. On irc, I asked: how do I achieve that? I furthermore asked: how do I specify that my 5 URLs post as plain text? Someone replied with:

go answer some questions usefully and gain rep

The problem I have with that is that I'm a poor newbie who isn't knowledgeable enough to answer any questions. The vast majority of questions asked I can't answer. I would think that users like myself would better be able to gain rep by asking helpful questions first.

I’ve been wrapped up and involved in creating a post asking questions about Python and now I can't post it to StackOverflow. I just posted it here on the Ubuntu Forums (https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2371635&p=13687613#post13687613) instead. In this post I refer to links to code samples hosted on GitHub and on pastebins. I also refer to a guide that I have found elsewhere on the web using Google. Struggling with Python, mashing my keyboard the way I do my controller when I play Street Fighter. Oh well. I just took my Python questions to the Ubuntu forums for now.