PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Live USB Installation - Can't Login - LUBUNTU

guzmanlinux
August 23rd, 2017, 06:44 AM
Hello,

I'm new to the linux world.
I was testing (trying without installation) Lubuntu-17.04.

It asks for a username and password, for what I've read, in this case the default is:
- user: lubuntu
- password: no password, left blank.
https://askubuntu.com/questions/103896/live-cd-asks-for-a-username-and-password

But after entering the credentials, it doesn't continue and it asks for the credentials again. I can't login.
Attached are images of the process.

What could be happening?

THANKS!!

PC: Acer Aspire One (netBook), 1 GB RAM

sudodus
August 23rd, 2017, 07:58 AM
Welcome to the Ubuntu Forums :-)

Please describe how you created the live USB drive.

- Which iso file?

- Did you check with md5sum that the download was successful? help.ubuntu.com/community/UbuntuHashes (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UbuntuHashes)

- Which tool/method did you use to create the live USB drive?

guzmanlinux
August 23rd, 2017, 03:03 PM
Hello sudodus! Thanks for the reply and welcome.

I answer your questions below.

- Please describe how you created the live USB
I used Rufus 2.16 (https://rufus.akeo.ie/?locale) to create a LIVE USB.
I don't know if it matters, but I used the Windows (Win 7 Starter) PC to create it.

- Which iso file?
I downloaded the ISO file from the Lubuntu website (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Lubuntu/GetLubuntu), using a torrent: lubuntu-17.04-desktop-i386.iso
I chose the 32bit.

- Did you check with md5sum that the download was successful?
No, I have no idea what md5sum is, I've never used a terminal (well...maybe DOS 20 years ago). I've read something about md5sum, but don't know what to do.
How can I check if I can't login? For what I've read you need the linux terminal to check.

- Which tool/method did you use to create the live USB drive?
Rufus 2.16

Let me provide additional info.