PDA

View Full Version : [server] Ubuntu Server installation issues

jc3iii77
July 7th, 2017, 06:39 AM
Hello, I am new to Ubuntu forums and new to Ubuntu Server. I am having a issue installing Ubuntu 16.04. every time I install it and reboot the system. I get a black screen, with nothing on it. I have looked on other forums and other resources online, but I still haven't solved the problem yet.

I have a Supermicro x8dth-i Server computer
2 Intel Xeon X5680 3.33GHz
ECC memory: 49GB
2 TB Hard Drive
180GB SSD
125 M.2 in PCI slot. Not trying to boot from this.
I have a BIOS

I have installed Ubuntu on the SSD and one of the regular hard drives, with the same problem. I also tried install with LVM. I used the standard system utillities, and Open ssh server.

When I get to the install grub part. I see this:https://ubuntuforums.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=275899&d=1499405676&thumb=1&stc=1

I assume this could be the problem. I don't know. If anyone can help, I would be very appreciative.

SeijiSensei
July 7th, 2017, 03:57 PM
If the machine already boots another operating system like Windows, then the Linux boot manager called grub will need to take over the boot management role. That's the meaning of the warning in that screenshot. grub knows how manage multiple operating systems, so you should say yes when asked. At boot Linux will become the default, but you'll see a menu that will let you select Windows instead.