PDA

View Full Version : Windows not booting?

wmarkley76
June 29th, 2017, 04:59 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Ubuntu, and I'm trying to install it on my Acer computer, currently running Windows 8.1. I've created a bootable USB stick, and I have restarted my computer with the stick inserted. However, when I get to the screen which asks me which OS I want to continue with, and I choose Linux, I get this message:
https://mail.google.com/mail/u/1/?ui=2&ik=a6244f6ac8&view=fimg&th=15cf491451059400&attid=0.1&disp=inline&safe=1&attbid=ANGjdJ8_ykcskqxbSVxSyY5dr5o4jLMPVFkyXLO2OQm k2TnFJBi-Gp00xt56Fjo3PUCLNW38Im5v34cBYlCkzu1cClsyX_lLkNVHuC iNUD92fnw--kncJmYc7H7GUB8&ats=1498751843817&rm=15cf491451059400&zw&sz=w1366-h633

Any solutions? Thanks in advance.

Autodave
June 29th, 2017, 05:41 PM
What is the message? (Can't see it in your post.)

Are you trying to dual boot and keep Win 8.1 and have Ubuntu on it, too? Or, are you trying to just run Ubuntu from the USB stick?

What are the specs of your machine?

wmarkley76
June 29th, 2017, 07:46 PM
Sorry for the lack of information. The picture reads:

Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause. To fix the problem:

1. Insert your Windows installation disc and restart your computer
2. Choose your language setting and press Next
3. Click "Repair your computer"

If you do not have this disc, contact your system administrator or computer manufacturer for assistance.

File: /g21dr.mbr

Info: The application or operating system couldn't be loaded because a required file is missing or contains errors.

I'm just trying to run Ubuntu from the USB, although I would like to know if this is the right choice rather than dual booting

I have an 64 bit Intel Celeron N2820 processor with a speed of 2.13 GHZ.

yancek
June 29th, 2017, 10:36 PM