PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Disk Sizing Issue

baguk
June 26th, 2017, 07:29 PM
Hi, ):P

I'm relatively new to Ubuntu admin work although I have been using Ubuntu GUI for some time with no issues.

I made the jump and installed Ubuntu 14.? a while ago and everything was OK. I ended up with a 512Mb boot device and a 300Gb encrypted drive using the default settings. I use USB and NAS drives for storage which means I don't really have issues with backup of the system. A few weeks ago I patched my system using the in built patcher and it jammed my system, it had run out of disk space on the root drive. I backed up my encrypted drive which had about 100Gb of files on it and proceeded to re install the latest version of Ubuntu from the website.

When I was finished I still had a 512Mb boot drive and despite everything I did, creating new partitions using the two tools available it refused to generate a 2Gb boot while encrypting my drive. I had swap errors failure or running out of disk space. I run out of disk space on a 2Gb drive while the default uses a 512Mb drive successfully. Clearly it copied different things to different places and without the right drives I run out of space.

How can I create a 2Gb, or whatever the minimum must be, while creating an encrypted drive for the remaining space similar to what is created when I use install, select delete disk and an encrypted partitions.

I'm tearing my hair out with what seems to be a simple task. Any help would be appreciated. I'm clearly making fundamental errors.

Thank you in advance.

CatKiller
June 26th, 2017, 08:30 PM
You'll want a /boot partition for UEFI. As you've found, the default is 512 MB, which is fine as long as you don't keep dozens of old kernels around. Otherwise, you can make that bigger if you want. That needs to be FAT32.