PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to setup a second HDD for Owncloud Data

esnrhtx
June 8th, 2017, 10:00 AM
I am kind of new with the Ubuntu/Linux OS. I have been trying to figure out how to setup a second HDD for the data in Owncloud. I have been working with this on and off for 2 years and I can't get it right. I'm using 16.04 LTS with the LAMP server and I'm installing the Owncloud package. If I default install Owncloud everything works fine except I have no more space on my SSD. Basically I just want to put all of the data on the second HDD with a fresh Owncloud install.

If I try to change the data path during install it says that it can't create the directory. I have been on multiple forums and can't find the answer to fix this. I know my problem is the mount and permissions. I can't possible type all of the stuff that I've done so far. Is there anyone that can give me a step-by-step list as to what to do? I know some of you can do this in your sleep and I would appreciate it and forgive me if I say things in the wrong context. I'm a noob with this.

My drive automatically goes to /dev/sdb. I name the HDD to ocdata from the disks menu. From what I understand, I have to make a directory next. Do I have to path to the HDD and make a directory on it or just under /media/ocdata? In the past it kept going to /media/compname/ocdata.

I think it would be easier if someone can just give me directions because I know I'm screwing this up and it won't be clear. A simple step 1,2 ,3... list would be great with examples. Everything from making a directory,mounting it, permissions and fstab entry would be awesome. In the proper order too please. I know the uuid number isn't here but "uuid" would be fine, if needed.