PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] "The 'grub-efi-amd64-signed' package failed to install"- while installing ubuntu16.04

lelouch0296
May 19th, 2017, 03:02 PM
Recently my internal hard disk got dmaged and i cant use it now, so i was hoping to install ubuntu on my external hdd ,so i created a 40 gb partition on it but when im trying to install ubuntu using live usb on my hdd its showing "The 'grub-efi-amd64-signed' package failed to install" error.
so i googled and installed boot repair but still the problem persists and i cant install ubuntu.

its a 1tb hdd , in which i created a 40 gb partion(for ubuntu) and the other partition has data that i want to keep safe.

im new to ubuntu an dits my first time trying to install ubuntu ,so i need help.

oldfred
May 19th, 2017, 03:42 PM
UEFI install of Ubuntu/grub requires an ESP - efi system partition on drive seen as sda. So internal drive must have ESP FAT32 with boot flag.
If you disconnect internal drive and still want to install to external is it gpt partitioned and do you have an ESP on it?
Or you can install in the 35 year old BIOS/MBR configuration. With Ubuntu you can use newer gpt partitioning and older BIOS if you also include a bios_grub partition.

Only attempt any install using Something Else. Some options just erase entire hard drive. In Linux entire drive is entire physical drive including all partitions. Not Windows mixed definition where it calls partitions "drives".

Post this:
sudo parted -l

lelouch0296
May 19th, 2017, 05:02 PM
actually im new to ubuntu and couldnt understand what you meant and about the internal drive its not accessible to me and i cant perform anything on it, its as good as dead.So if you can pls tell me step by step what i would have to do to install.

oldfred
May 19th, 2017, 06:33 PM
Post this first from Ubuntu live installer:
sudo parted -l

Just copy & paste terminal output. If long, include code tags which are the # icon in Forum's advanced editor.

Dennis N