PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Xubuntu 16.04 LTS - Software Center

ubu112
May 11th, 2017, 01:26 AM
Please,I'm new with Xubuntu and I used Ubuntu before.

I'd like to know if,in Xubuntu, there is a Software Center,to find something new with descriptions.

Thank you

Autodave
May 11th, 2017, 01:34 AM
Yes there is. Click on the mouse icon on top left of screen: it will be there in the menu that first appears. It is just named "Software".

Bucky Ball
May 11th, 2017, 03:29 AM
You can also use Synaptic Package Manager. Not sure if that also still comes default with Xubuntu. If not, easy to install with Software or in terminal.

sudo apt install synaptic

Many prefer it.

ubu112
May 11th, 2017, 11:48 PM
Thank you,for your answers.

For now I'm just tring Xubuntu from a live USB and "software" doesn't work,why?

I checked how much memory my system use

xubuntu@xubuntu:~$ free -lm
total used free shared buff/cache available
Mem: 986 275 230 56 479 615
Low: 865 635 230
High: 120 120 0
Swap: 1010 251 759
xubuntu@xubuntu:~$

Can someone,please, explain to me which is the meaning of row "Mem","Low" and "High"

Thank you

RobGoss
May 11th, 2017, 11:58 PM
For now I'm just tring Xubuntu from a live USB and "software" doesn't work,why?

Please keep in mind running the live installer is just for demo purposes, it allows you to test the OS to see how it performs, you can't install software

Dennis N
May 12th, 2017, 12:19 AM
"Software" takes (by my rough estimate) 30 seconds before it is ready to go - at least on the first launch. Needs to access its data, I think.

As for free command, best to use free -h for understandability:

dmn@Sydney:~$ free -h
total used free shared buff/cache available
Mem: 3.7G 752M 2.0G 83M 1.0G 2.7G
Swap: 7.8G 0B 7.8G

Don't know about the low/high mem option and what it signifies.

ubu112
May 12th, 2017, 01:20 AM
I just want to take a look at "software".

I tried it more than ones,for minutes,but nothing happend,I mean it doesn't open.