PDA

View Full Version : How to make a clean install of Xubuntu from Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

ubu112
May 3rd, 2017, 03:27 PM
I have an Acer Aspire One AOA150/ZG5 with Ubuntu 16.04 LTS installed.

Now I'm tring Xubuntu from a live USB and it seems to be faster.Before the install,can I install Chromium?because Firefox is making something strange.And,can I update now or

have I to wait after the install?

Please,I'd need help for how to make a clean install of Xubuntu 16.04 LTS (deleting Ubuntu)and how to change XFCE to LXDE.

I'm not an expert at all,please,guide me.

Thank you

ajgreeny
May 3rd, 2017, 04:55 PM
You install Xubuntu the same way you installed Ubuntu using the live USB that you have already tried.

Do you have a separate /home partition?
Show us the output from Ubuntu of command df -h in terminal.
Please use Code-Tags for terminal output. See my signature below for a How-to

ubu112
May 3rd, 2017, 06:21 PM
Unfortunately,i didn't make the Ubuntu install .

user@user-AOA150:~$ df -h
File system Dim. Usati Dispon. Uso% Montato su
udev 477M 0 477M 0% /dev
tmpfs 99M 4,9M 94M 5% /run
/dev/sda1 146G 11G 128G 8% /
tmpfs 495M 6,3M 488M 2% /dev/shm
tmpfs 5,0M 4,0K 5,0M 1% /run/lock
tmpfs 495M 0 495M 0% /sys/fs/cgroup
tmpfs 99M 72K 99M 1% /run/user/1000
user@user-AOA150:~$

Thank you

ajgreeny
May 3rd, 2017, 11:00 PM
No you do not have a separate /home partition so if you have a lot of personal files (docs, music videos, etc etc) in your home you will need to backup all of them before reinstalling.

Having done that, install from the USB and allow the system to use all the disk which will then automatically set the partition sizes for the root or OS partition and another smaller one for swap.

There is a good thread at https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2230389 about running live and installing the various *ubuntu family OSs.

ubu112
May 4th, 2017, 12:25 AM
Thank you for your answer.I'll read the thread you send to me.

I have few question: