PDA

View Full Version : From Ubuntu to Xubuntu 16.04 LTS

ubu112
May 3rd, 2017, 01:17 AM
Please,I'm not an expert and I have an old pc with just 1 Gb of RAM,with Ubuntu 16.04 LTS installed.

Now,I'm tring Xubuntu from a live USB and it seems faster.Have I to update to make a good test?can I install Chromium?

I'd like to know if I install it from the USB,everything will be deleted? I mean it's like to make a fresh install?

Which is the best way to install it?

Thank you

Qew
May 3rd, 2017, 02:32 AM
I'd just install packages xfce4 and xfce4-goodies on your current installation using Synaptic or apt-get (I'll post the code below), which will drag in the necessary packages. If your current installation is running OK, then there's no reason why you can't install XFCE on it and use it on what you've got. Once installed, when you log in the next time, select XFCE in the login screen, and you'll be using XFCE and it'll default to that the next time you login (you can change it back to Unity if you want). There is no major issue having two desktops installed on your machine, bar space.

BTW, the reason why I don't say install xubuntu-desktop is because it'll drag in a lot of stuff that you might not be interested in or have similar packages already installed. You can install it, it won't break anything, but it's not necessary and adds stuff that might be clutter and redundant for you. Still, if you want the default Xubuntu applications, configuration and feel, then maybe you should install that too. However, I've gone without and gone with just XFCE.

If you're not using Synaptic or Software Center, open a virtual terminal or Xterm and type in:

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install xfce4 xfce4-goodies

Oh, yeah, you can install and use Chromium just fine. I have it installed and occasionally use it.

Bucky Ball
May 3rd, 2017, 04:12 AM