PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Cant Install from USB Boot

mythicpaw
May 2nd, 2017, 09:19 PM
Hello everyone,

I couldn't install ubuntu from USB. I use win 10 and used Rufus to bootable USB. USB was booted and installation screen shows up. Asked 4 option and I tried the first Installation from USB but screen crashed. After that, I tried open from USB but the same result.

I'm using the desktop.

Intel i5
Asus rogx GTX 970
8 GB ram DDR 3
2 SSD 500 GB 2 HDD 1 TB 1 External 4 TB
Bios support UEFI and fast boot. My mainboard is gigabyte but not remember spec it was h7 or something like and really old one (over 8 years)
I have dual screen and when crashes only 1 screen shows something other is closed.
Anyway for log where to crash when open? Or any way to understand why crashes. I'm not a newbie but not an expert. I used ubuntu from 7 until 10 version and gone to mac. But need this computer for work

This is screen photo.

http://imgur.com/a/x9eSG

http://imgur.com/a/x9eSG

ubfan1
May 2nd, 2017, 09:34 PM
At the grub menu screen, (assuming a UEFI boot without the function keys to change options), try typing "e" to edit and add "nomodeset" on the "linux" line at the "quiet splash". If that works, add the proprietary Nvidia drivers right away: Software updater, let it update, click on the settings button, then the alternative drivers tab.

mythicpaw
May 8th, 2017, 10:25 PM
Hello,

Thx for info. Installation screen has come and trying install. After completed I will write here results.

mythicpaw
May 8th, 2017, 10:41 PM
Hello Again, Grub said my harddisk dont have boot option. I did 2 partition. First - 498 gb as a root second is 2 gb temp. I also have windows too. That has uefi fast boot and another disk (ssd) and that is master. Soo grub 2 crashed and interrupted installation

ubfan1
May 9th, 2017, 03:58 AM