PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] YUMI: It should be plug and play right?

kylona
April 6th, 2017, 02:35 AM
I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask, but I wasn't sure where to go.

I'm trying to live boot Ubuntu Studio so I can use Aurdor. I've used YUMI before and I really liked it. No problems whatsoever. Download the .iso let it do its magic select the option from the boot menu and ta da! This time has been a mess.

My system is an ACER with a AMD FX 7th gen 64 bit processor.

I know my iso is good because it successfully boots in a virtual machine, but the latency for audio recording is just too much.

After trying several things including switching flash drives I've hit this dead end. I think YUMI did it right this time, except that the OS is not showing up in the menu. I tried uninstalling and re-installing with no luck. Still not showing up in the menu.....

Is there a way to manually add it to the menu?

I honestly don't know what I should include here. Sorry I'm a noob.

TheFu
April 6th, 2017, 12:25 PM
Welcome to the forums.

Is ubuntu studio in the list of Yumi distros? I don't recall and can't get to a Windows PC for a few hours. If not, you'll want to change the ISO name so that it looks like one of the other Ubuntu ISOs. Make the mask match a pattern used by some other Ubuntu flavor.

Also, there is always a chance that a specific USB drive won't work with a specific computer. Try a different flash drive, try a different port, and try putting a normal lubuntu/xubuntu onto the yumi multi-boot flash too.

Also, be certain the computer is set to boot off USB. This is in the BIOS. Often different vendors have a "boot menu" that can be used to pick a boot device. F2 or F12 are commonly used, IME.

BTW, running off a flash drive will be slower than when installed. USB2 will feel much slower. Best to carve out 25G of space (and 2 empty partitions) and actually install onto the HDD.

Autodave
April 6th, 2017, 01:45 PM