PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Failed upgrade from 16.04 to 16.10

gibbywilson
March 28th, 2017, 11:10 AM
Hello

I am completely new to Ubuntu and just upgraded my laptop from 16.04 to 16.10 and I get a message saying installation is finished but with errors.

the box that pops up reads;

Could not install 'systemd-shim'

The upgrade will continue but the 'systemd-shim' package may not be in a working state. Please consider submitting a bug report about it.

subprocess installed post-removal script returned error exit status 2

I hope someone knows how I can fix this error

Thanks

Gibby

Bucky Ball
March 28th, 2017, 02:13 PM
Welcome. Have you rebooted, and if so, what happened? At this point, there is not a lot we can help you fix as you've received a message, but are not reporting an error booting or operating the machine. Reboot the machine, open a terminal (if you get that far) and post the output of this:

lsb_release -a

It should say you are now running 16.10 if the upgrade worked. If you have any issues after booting the machine, try and be specific as to what is happening.

Just curious, was there a reason to upgrade to 16.10? That is an interim release, supported until the middle of this year. 16.04 LTS is a long-term support release supported until 2021. :)

gibbywilson
March 28th, 2017, 03:41 PM
Thanks for the reply

The reason for the upgrade was simply I got Ubuntu yesterday and just wanted the latest version (I am new to this so not really sure how everything works)

I did as you asked and this is the message:

No LSB modules are available.
Distributor ID: Ubuntu
Description: Ubuntu 16.10
Release: 16.10
Codename: yakkety

Thanks

Gibby

Bucky Ball
March 29th, 2017, 01:51 AM
Well, you seem to be on 16.10. Is the machine working fine? No error messages?