PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Gnome shell extentions - on / off switches not on website



mrwaistcoat
March 15th, 2017, 01:45 PM
Hi all,

Just done fresh Gnome install and have problem not seen before.

I've followed all the steps to install extensions (browser add ons etc) and have not had a problem with previous install. Strangely, the https://extensions.gnome.org/ it not showing the on/off switch for me to add. Neither can it list my added extensions.

Wondering if this is just me or a wider problem? If it's just me, any advice appreciated!

Thanks

ajgreeny
March 15th, 2017, 04:47 PM
Which browser?

It is difficult to know what answers we can give you with the information you have given us so far.

tea for one
March 15th, 2017, 06:35 PM
Hi all,

Just done fresh Gnome install and have problem not seen before.

I've followed all the steps to install extensions (browser add ons etc) and have not had a problem with previous install. Strangely, the https://extensions.gnome.org/ it not showing the on/off switch for me to add. Neither can it list my added extensions.

Wondering if this is just me or a wider problem? If it's just me, any advice appreciated!

Thanks

Are you using Firefox 52? If you are, then it is a wider problem with a solution.

It is something to do with NPAPI plugins (If I knew how they worked, I'd elaborate but it's out of my comfort zone)

Anyway, here are a couple of helpful links:-

https://blogs.gnome.org/ne0sight/2016/12/25/how-to-install-gnome-shell-extensions-with-firefox-52/

http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2017/01/install-gnome-shell-extensions-firefox-chrome

Kind regards

mrwaistcoat
March 15th, 2017, 07:52 PM
Issue is the same both with Firefox and with Chrome

mrwaistcoat
March 15th, 2017, 09:01 PM
Both browsers give a message re native host connector not installed.

I've done
sudo apt-get install chrome-gnome-shell
but it's already installed

tea for one
March 15th, 2017, 10:55 PM
Both browsers give a message re native host connector not installed.

I've done
sudo apt-get install chrome-gnome-shell
but it's already installed

The instructions were buried in the links provided earlier



sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ne0sight/chrome-gnome-shell


sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install chrome-gnome-shell

mrwaistcoat
March 16th, 2017, 10:42 AM
The instructions were buried in the links provided earlier



sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ne0sight/chrome-gnome-shell


sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install chrome-gnome-shell

Many thanks, that's resolved it. This action resulted in an update. What threw me is that chrome-gnome-shell was already installed upon installation, so I assumed it would be the latest as the system had been updated.

uNoubu8a
March 18th, 2017, 10:27 PM
Just ran into this myself. Not ideal to have to resort to 3rd party repo's but at least we can get our extension fix :)