PDA

View Full Version : UEFI problem installing 16.10 on external hard drive

mark allyn
March 12th, 2017, 05:26 PM
Hello all,

I have a 64-bit HP-Compaq desktop which has Windows 7 installed and ALONGSIDE it is installed Ubuntu 12.04. They live together happily on a 500 M SATA hard drive.

What I'm trying to do is to preserve the existing internal disk setup and install Ubuntu 16.10 from an OSDisc.com DVD in a 1 TB Seagate external EXTERNAL hard drive. However, I run into the following message:

Force UEFI Installation? This machines's firmware has started this installer in UEFI mode but it looks like there maybe existing operating systems already installed using BIOS compatibility mode, If you continue to install Debian in UEFI mode,it might be difficult to reboot into any BIOS-mode operating system.

I'm new to this message. On previous external hard drive installs, even 14.04 64-bit, this message didn't show up. It appears to be new with Ubuntu 16+.

I have tried going to the boot screens (using F10 during boot-up) but none of the tabs gives a clear indication of how to boot in BIOS mode rather than UEFI. It is possible that I am not recognizing the BIOS option because the wording is crytpic. Or, maybe there is no way to boot in BIOS mode on an HP box?

I'm at the point of simply clobbering the dual mode internal hard drive setup with an installation of Ubuntu 16.10, but thought I'd try this forum before such a drastic step.

Thanks,

Mark Allyn

ubfan1
March 12th, 2017, 05:36 PM